Starred Reviews

https://sunyidean.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/library-journal-logo-FB27F986CC-seeklogo.com_-200x200.png
https://sunyidean.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/starred-review-300x300.png
https://sunyidean.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/Booklist_StarReview_badge-300x300.jpg
https://sunyidean.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/bookpagestar-200x200.png

More Editorial Reviews

"A powerful story of overwhelming mother love, as something both powerful and potentially horrific. It’s a book that delves into the need to survive even when a system is built to break you or determined to crush you; [it] refuses to flinch away from difficult choices or the impact of trauma, both generational and inflicted. Readers will devour this compelling, rich fantasy."Booklist, starred review

“A darkly sweet pastry of a book about family, betrayal, and the lengths we go to for the ones we love. Great reading for a rainy morning, with tea or coffee on, a cat in your lap, and nowhere to be but lost in a delicious modern fairy tale.” ―Christopher Buehlman, author of The Blacktongue Thief

"A delightfully weird exploration of motherhood, queerness, and escaping patriarchal norms.”―Buzzfeed

“Dark and incredibly compelling―I could not put this book down. All about motherhood and monsters, and twists the knife on every page.”―Everina Maxwell, author of Winter's Orbit

“An entrancing tale that explores the ways that love can both strengthen and destroy us. It had me on the edge of my seat right up until the end.The Book Eaters is one you’ll want to sink your teeth into.”―Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch's Heart

A exquisitely-crafted tale of those who break free of the stories written for them and forge their own in ink and blood. I couldn't put it down.”―H.G. Parry, author of The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

'A fascinating debut with shades of gothic fantasy and contemporary thriller, wrapped in a narrative full of vivid and detailed characters and worldbuilding, and an unusual premise.' Library Journal, starred review

“Two delicious timelines weave a thriller-paced tale ... It peels back the pampering veneer of fairytales and tradition to trauma beneath, with a rich, nuanced look at grey morality and motherhood. Full of heart and hurt, you’ll want to consume The Book Eaters in one sitting.”―Essa Hansen, author of Nophek Gloss

"Sunyi Dean is a master of pace and foreshadowing, and keeps the reader on the edge of their seat from the first page to the last. THE BOOK EATERS is gorgeously written, the kind of novel that stays with you long after you finish reading it.”―Michael Mammay, author of The Planetside series

"A gloriously Gothic contemporary horror fantasy, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Tanith Lee."―Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones

'Dean reinvents the vampire in way that's both disturbing' RJ Barker, author of The Bone Ships

'A riveting tale that consumed me as earnestly as I devoured it. Full of grit and humanity, Sunyi Dean expertly weaves the complexities of motherhood, loyalty and found family in a world not far from our own. Dean's debut has already established her as a master of craft. If I were a book eater, this novel would be one to savour.' Saara El-Arifi, author of The Final Strife